Shadows Hold Their Breath (Paperback)

Shadows Hold Their Breath By Sherry Robinson Cover Image

Shadows Hold Their Breath (Paperback)

$28.74


Not on our shelves; Available to order; Arrives in 5-7 business days

"A woman's fateful decision colors and molds her future." Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A must read for fans of Henrik Ibsen's A Doll's House and Kate Chopin's The Awakening.

Sherry Robinson, award-winning author of Blessed, returns with a daring novel about social taboos, secrets, grief, and self-discovery.

Shadows Hold Their Breath takes place with the backdrop of the 1970s feminist movement and in the final years of the Vietnam War. It tells the story of Kat Hunter, a woman who decides that the only way she can understand her unresolved grief and discover who she is meant to be is to do the unthinkable-the unforgivable. In October 1979, six years after suffering the loss of Beth, her dear friend and sister-in-law, to enemy mortar fire near the village of Quảng Ng i, Vietnam, Kat begins to question everything about her traditional life. In the middle of the night, she slips away from her home in Lexington, Kentucky, her husband, and her three young daughters and boards a bus with no specific destination in mind. On the bus, she meets Molly, a young woman who reminds her of Beth. With nowhere else to go, Kat follows Molly and Molly's boyfriend, Jake, to Gatlinburg, Tennessee. Once there, Kat joins the artists community and guards the secret that she is married and has abandoned her children to the care of her husband.

Kat's journey of self-discovery ultimately leads her down an unexpected path-but what is she willing to sacrifice for that journey?

Product Details ISBN: 9781945049286
ISBN-10: 1945049286
Publisher: Shadelandhouse Modern Press, LLC
Publication Date: July 19th, 2022
Pages: 272
Language: English