A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home (Hardcover)

A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jun 26 1:15am
(PETS)

Description


An uplifting and unforgettable story of a US Marine, his extraordinary dog, and the road trip of a lifetime.

When US Marine Rob Kugler returns from war he had given up not only a year of his life in service to his country, but he had also lost a brother in the fighting as well. Lost in grief, Rob finds solace and relief in the one thing that never fails to put a smile on his face: his chocolate lab Bella. Exceptionally friendly, and always with - you wouldn’t believe it - a smile on her face, Bella is the friend Rob needs, and they spend their days exploring nature and taking photos.

But then Bella develops a limp in her front leg. It’s cancer, and the prognosis isn’t good. Rob has a choice, either to let Bella go now, or amputate her cancer riddled leg, and see what the next few months would bring.

For Rob, the choice is a no-brainer, and instead of waiting at home for the cancer to spread, Rob and Bella pack their bags and hit the road. Life is short, but the road ahead is long and winding, and as they criss-cross the country Rob and Bella meet remarkable, life-changing men and women who are quick to make friends with this incredible three-legged dog. A Dog Named Beautiful is a book full of inspiration, hope, love, tears, and laughs. Enjoy the journey.

Praise For…


“Kugler’s heartful and uplifting story reveals the transformative power pets can have.” - Publishers Weekly

"Engaging and sometimes heart-rending, and it will be a certain tear-jerker for dog lovers.
Love, devotion, and slobbery kisses abound in this heartwarming story of a man and his treasured chocolate Lab." — Kirkus

“[Kugler] expertly balances his personal journey through past trauma and to finding inner peace with Bella at his side with inspirational insights all readers can appreciate. Kugler’s interactions with other veterans throughout his journey feel like a tribute to our armed forces. This sweet story honoring the bond between animals and their people is a must-read for fans of A Dog Called Hope and Travels with Charley, and anyone open to a good, cathartic cry.” —Booklist, Starred Review

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250164254
ISBN-10: 1250164257
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: May 7th, 2019
Pages: 304

Old Firehouse Books

232 Walnut Street Old Town Fort Collins, CO 80524 

(970)484-7898, info@oldfirehousebooks.com


Store Hours

Monday - Thursday 9:00am to 8:00pm, Friday & Saturday 9:00am to 9:00pm & Sunday 9:00am to 6:00pm 


Trade Desk Hours 

Monday - Saturday 10:00am to 5:00pm & Sunday - 12:00pm to 4:00pm