Allison

 Allison was a bookseller for six years before moving to Fort Collins and signing on with Old Firehouse. She tends to read a lot of genre fiction: mostly fantasy and science fiction (really ANYTHING with a speculative edge), but she's also a total sucker for a well-done Regency romp and the occasional Russian novel. Her interests outside of books include bad tv, history, and skiing, as well as her one true love: the New York Rangers. 

Staff Pick Badge
The Star-Touched Queen Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250085474
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - April 26th, 2016

This is a stunning novel about reincarnation and memories, fate and choice. There are a host of gods, demons, creatures, and beings from Indian folklore. There's a timeless love story. There are bonds of sisterhood and friendship. Whispering doors, crystal trees, flesh-eating horses. I could go on and on and on. 

I love LUSH writing. Tactile, sensory writing. I am the only person on this earth that loves the word "moist", because yeah it's slightly off-putting, but you can also feel it.  Chokshi's novel swells with this kind of writing. It's sensuous, it's creepy, it's inviting, it's edible. I LOVE IT. 

Maya is wonderful and so are her interactions with Amar, Gauri, Kamala, her father....pretty much everyone. Bonus: they're all intriguing characters in their own right.

In a nutshell: great, deep world-building with tricky, nuanced characters and some truly mind-blowing imagery.

I never quite knew where this story was taking me, and that's fine because I loved every twisty moment of it.


Deathless Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780765326317
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 14th, 2012

The Weight of Feathers: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250058652
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: A Thomas Dunne Book for St. Martin's Griffin - September 15th, 2015

Conservation of Shadows Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781607013877
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Prime Books - April 3rd, 2013

Homegoing: A novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781101947135
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - June 7th, 2016

The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316229296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 4th, 2015

These Vicious Masks Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250073891
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Swoon Reads - February 9th, 2016

Other than the ending (*loud crying*) this was an absolute BLAST. SCATHING BANTER (I was LIVING for Evelyn's Byron jabs). TALL DARK HANDSOME GENTLEMEN. HEROINES BULLDOZING THEIR WAY THROUGH TROUBLE. SUPERPOWERS + VICTORIAN ENGLAND.  

Sorry about the all-caps, but this was a fast-paced, all-caps kind of book. Think...stuffing cotton candy into your mouth for four hours.

There are a lot of really neat little nods to X-Men without it being copycat-ish at all. I had a great time saying "OOOoooo this reminds me of....."

Super quick, super fun. Already need the next book ASAP.

Perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab and Gail Carriger.


Blackdog (Gods of the Caravan Road #1) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781616145217
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pyr - September 20th, 2011

The Mammoth Book of Cthulhu Cover Image
By Paula Guran (Editor)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780762456208
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Running Press Adult - May 24th, 2016

The Geek Feminist Revolution: Essays Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765386243
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - May 31st, 2016


Old Firehouse Books

232 Walnut Street Old Town Fort Collins, CO 80524 

(970)484-7898, info@oldfirehousebooks.com


Store Hours

Monday - Thursday 9:00am to 8:00pm, Friday & Saturday 9:00am to 9:00pm & Sunday 9:00am to 6:00pm 


Trade Desk Hours 

Monday - Saturday 10:00am to 5:00pm & Sunday - 12:00pm to 4:00pm